Many consumers do not appreciate the magnitude of the risk that they are attempting to mitigate when purchasing auto insurance. The State of Texas requires that all drivers maintain a minimum of 30/60/25 of liability coverage. Which means that you must purchase at the minimum liability limits of $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. Unfortunately the minimum amount of auto coverage mandated by Texas law may not be enough to cover all the damage caused in an auto wreck. When purchasing auto insurance you should consider your exposure to liability in the event you are at fault, involved in a lawsuit and required to pay damages. Even if you’re not at fault, you should consider purchasing auto insurance to protect yourself from losses arising from a wreck involving uninsured or underinsured motorists.